Ownership

You maybe welcomed into this heart,
But to own it you’ll never.
You may experience the warm embrace,
But to own this spirit is next to impossible.
I’m a free spirit, doing and going whatever and wherever I wish.
My thoughts are free. I judge not. I just flow.

If you leave the ownership of this spirit onto me to own,
Then you’ll know of an unique being, A being who respects all and lets it be. I’ll never trespass nor transgress your rights.

I watch with a doleful eye,
All those efforts put in by an individual, Trying to own me.
Why cage me in?
Let me fly into the dark night , like lucky lark and sing this beautiful song.
The metaphors are crying to be messaged by my quill,
How then will I be able to, if you insist hanging on to my neck?

In solitude, I find my thoughts and sing my personal soliloquy.
A crowd is sometimes tiresome and all I need is to quench
my soul with this quest in golden silence. Alone, I expire the anguish and inhale happiness,
But otherwise, I’ve known peace piece by piece. I won’t mortgage my person, I’ll keep it intact.
Therefore, you can’t own me…

© Copyright 2012 Ayoub Mzee

Leave a Reply

