Promises

Those dainty things,
Those cute and distant things,
That flies away like butterflies,
That twinkles away like stars,
Whenever you come too near.
Whenever you come too close.
That they keep on offerring.
That they keep on giving I.
That I keep on calling promises.
Empty promises.
My people,
If not careful,
These promises will kill I.
I don’t eat promises.
Do you?
No, you don’t my people.
Shelf life of promises is too short.
My memory is too long.
Your tomorrow is your yesterday,
Devoid of substance.
Devoured by lies.
Here I lie,
Patiently watching your lies.
I’m not lying.
My people,
If you give me one more promise,
I will go mad.
My people,
Give me something else,
But not promises.
A promise is a beautiful lie.
A promise is an elagant mirage.
A promise is a cunning bird.
Always catching me off guard.
The promises have run away,
And my purpose is gone.
Don’t promise to promise.
I beg.

© Copyright 2012 Ayoub Mzee

4 thoughts on “Promises

    1. Promises are dreadful things. I have seen so many hearts get broken. Whenever one is given, just run for the hills happinessisnotadisease! Heh heh Heh!

Leave a Reply

