The Perpetual Pawn

Sunshine drowns lost sorrows.
If only I could drink her goodness with my heart.
Moonshine shines her mysteries.
She whispers silver lit dreams.
In familiar darkness,
I find my id,
Inchoate and calmed.
Holding the future with a glad heart,
My being is nourished and nurtured.
Love is too cunning but too sweet to let go.
Silently I sing private thoughts.
Warm thoughts.
Solitary thoughts.
Forlorn thoughts.
Happy thoughts.
A lonely soliloquy,
Vents certain truths,
In her absence.
A one person conference,
Converses with his spirit.
Hold this hand,
And steal this kiss from these lips.
I’m falling.
Again.
In sweet lies.
Bleeding in love.
The perpetual pawn…

© Ayoub Mzee 2012

2 thoughts on “The Perpetual Pawn

  1. A man who is both self-aware and vulnerable = always sexy. 😉
    There is also power in emotional availability. But I didn’t have to tell you that; as you were cognizant enough to write a poem like this. 😉

Leave a Reply

